Brand New: A Rightfully Appropriate Name To Say The Least

Brand New Tour Pic I quite possibly experienced a near death experience in the making tonight. Literally. To clarify:

Death Experience #1: The show

I’ve seen crowds get intense; this is far from my first concert. The crowd that spilled through the  doors of the Fillmore tonight, were something else. For one, they were there to see the band, and  their was no denying the dedication to Brand New. It set me back in awe. The respect and the  absolute excitement were overwhelming. Pure love, something I can’t say for most shows I’ve  been to. There was passion and you felt it shake the building like God came down from the  Heavens into the very room. And how appropriate, seeing at the Devil and God Are Raging Inside  Me was the most played album of the night. Jessie’s fight within with religion, his passion, his  intensity, his dilemmas, and his internal fight… The irony was legitimately more powerful, to me,  than religious gatherings on television. If Brand New could be a religion one could put their life in the hands of, I’d convert and never miss a day. I relate and find comfort in the messages that he sends, the lessons taught by their words, and the sensation that rushes over you when you feel the images that must be flashing through their minds as they write such strong lyrics. It grabs you, and refuses to let you go. And I am in my own Heaven when I listening. This was the God of the rage.

Well, Jesus Christ, I’m alone again
So what did you do those three days you were dead?
Because this problem’s gonna last
More than the weekend

Well, Jesus Christ I’m not scared to die
I’m a little bit scared of what comes after
Do I get the gold chariot
Do I float through the ceiling

Do I divide and fall apart
Cause my bright is too slight to hold back all my dark
This ship went down in sight of land
And at the gates does Thomas ask to see my hands?

Near Death Experience #2: The Mosh Pit aka The Whole Crowd

This was scary. Very scary. As in I thought I was going to get my nose broken or a black eye. Unfortunately, this was a drawback to the show. There was not one square foot of Fillmore that wasn’t occupied by a bashing, moshing, violent, (raging) concert-goer. Everywhere I moved, I just got myself further from stage, and in a new group of people ready to push the next in their fit. The music almost overtook them, and they were oblivious to all around them, people especially. They didn’t care… They were literally overtaken by the music. I think this is the devil part of the rage.

Near Death Experience #3: Love

Appropriate emotion. Love. The best way to describe Brand New after a show. I think I can officially name them my favorite band. No one grips me and moves me the way they can. I can’t even put into true words what they make me feel. The lyrics and meanings behind each song are what it is to be alive some days.

Was it worth the trip? – I wouldn’t have missed it for the world. They ran through material new and old, not just dedicated to promotion of the new album. Pure genius. And even shocking how people relate and responded better to the old music versus the new, opposite of my opinion. I highly suggest they come out with a live tour dvd from this one.

Brand New forever.

To hear their latest album, click: http://music.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=music.artistalbums&artistid=4665058&ap=1&albumid=13667880&songid=56651366

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

