“Daisy”

The flower symbolism associated with the daisy is purity, innocence, loyal love, beauty, patience and simplicity.


the opening refrence to number 99, ‘just as I am’ is refering to the hymn which goes by the same name.
Johnny Cash made this hymn popular in 1999 by using it in a song which also goes by the same name.

Charlotte Elliot wrote this song about how to find salvation through Christ. It has been used by many as the call to the altar at the close of services, as it brings a quiet simple message of sin, forgiveness, and salvation to all that listen.

An elderly man asked Charlotte Elliott if she were a Christian; she felt insulted, and told him to mind his own affairs. But after the man left, she could not get the question off her mind, and she went back to ask the man how to find Christ. He told her to come just as she was. She did, and wrote the beautiful song, “Just As I Am.” – By B. A. Scherr

She is reputed to have written the hymn whilst resting under the shade of a tree at the site of a property which was being built by her brother Reverend Henry Venn Elliott as a school for the daughters of impoverished clergymen.

That explains the little boy/girl who reads.

find the hymn and listen at http://www.hymntime.com/tch/htm/j/u/justasam.htm

Daisy

“And we sing this morning that wonderful and grand old message. 
I don’t know about you but I never get tired of it 
Number 99: Just As I Am.

I’m a mountain that has been moved
I’m a river that is all dried up
I’m an ocean nothing floats on
I’m a sky that nothing wants to fly in
I’m a sun that doesn’t burn hot
I’m a moon that never shows it’s face
I’m a mouth that doesn’t smile
I’m a word that no one ever wants to say…

[Child speaking.]
I don’t wanna be, 
He wasn’t finding anybody when he was on the shelf
I saw him in my dream

I’m a mountain that has been moved
I’m a fugitive that has no legs to run
I’m a preacher with no pulpit
Spewing a sermon that goes on and on…

Well if we take all these things and we bury them fast
And we’ll pray that they turn into seeds, to roots and then grass
It’d be all right, it’s all right, it’d be easier that way
Or if the sky opened up and started pouring rain
Like he knew it was time to start things over again
It’d be all right, it’s all right, it’d be easier that way

Well if we take all these things and we bury them fast
And we’ll pray that they turn into seeds, to roots and then grass
It’d be all right, it’s all right, it’d be easier that way
Or if the sky opened up and started pouring rain
Like he knew it was time to start things over again
It’d be all right, it’s all right, it’d be easier that way

2 Comments»

  Larry Timbs wrote @

Hey Ellen. Just decided to check what you’re writing about.

You’re helping keep us informed.

One suggestion: Your blog posts would be more reader friendly if they were in dark print against a light background.

LT

  scotirish86 wrote @

Yeah… It’s a preset layout and the only thing I can edit thus far without paying to do so that I’m aware of is to change the title block at the top. These are calming colors though, and I like them, but thanks for the suggestion.


Leave a Reply

